Snow Removal

The Department of Public Works (DPW) takes great pride in making roads and sidewalks safe. DPW crews are responsible for plowing eight miles of state highway, 26 miles of major streets and 63 miles of local or residential streets.

Crews prioritize plowing in the following order: 1) main traffic arteries (for emergency vehicle access), 2) state highways, 3) major streets and 4) residential streets. Typically, plowing only takes place in residential neighborhoods when snowfall accumulates more than three inches.

The following list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) outlines snow removal procedures: