Police Oversight Commission

The purpose of the Police Oversight Commission is to increase accountability of the East Lansing Police Department and strengthen conditions leading to trust in the police department by the community that it is pledged to serve. Because the East Lansing City Council is committed to the goal of racial equity, the Commission will give priority to addressing racial inequities as well as use of force in policing. The Commission will enable members of the community to participate in reviewing and making recommendations about police department policies, practices and procedures, and it will provide means for prompt, impartial and fair review of complaints brought by individuals against police officers or the police department.

The Police Oversight Commission consists of 11 members with staggered terms and who meet monthly.


  • Meetings take place the second Monday of each month @ 6 p.m.
  • East Lansing Hannah Community Center
    819 Abbot Road
    East Lansing, MI 48823

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Agendas & Minutes


  • Amanda Morgan
    Term expires: 2022
  • Gwen Dobrowolski
    Term expires: 2022
  • Noel Garcia
    Term expires: 2022
  • Robin Etchison
    Term expires: 2023
  • Kath Edsall
    Term expires: 2023
  • Erick Williams
    Term expires: 2023

  • Shawn Farzam
    Term expires: 2023
  • Benjamin Hughes
    Term expires: 2024
  • Sharon Hobbs, Ph.D.
    Term expires: 2024
  • Ron Fink
    Term expires: 2024
  • Ernest Conerly
    Term expires: 2024

City Staff

Apply for a Vacancy

Submit a Board / Commission Application (PDF) to apply for an appointment to the Police Oversight Commission.