Commission on the Environment

The Commission on the Environment studies issues and makes recommendations to City Council on a variety of matters pertaining to environmental protection; reviews, studies and makes recommendations on policies and legislation necessary to implement programs for the protection of the environment; and studies existing and proposed programs and assists in the development of new programs.
The Commission on the Environment consists of nine members who serve three-year terms and meet monthly. 


  • Meetings take place the third Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
  • UPDATED LOCATION: East Lansing Hannah Community Center, 819 Abbot Road, East Lansing, MI 48823

View the 2024 Meeting Dates (PDF)

Commission on the Environment Seal

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Agendas & Minutes | View Agendas & Minutes Archives 


  • Tom Alwin, Chair
    Term expires: 2024
  • Barb Andersen
    Term expires: 2026
  • Chris Conn
    Term expires: 2026 
  • Jessica Crawford
    Term expires: 2026
  • Cyndi Roper
    Term expires: 2026
  • Jill Steiner
    Term expires: 2026
  • Helana Nelson
    Term expires: 2024
  • Kailey Schoen
    Term expires: 2024
  • Michael Townley
    Term expires: 2025

City Staff

Apply for a Vacancy

Submit a Board / Commission Application to apply for an appointment to the Commission on the Environment.