Historic District Commission

The Historic District reviews proposed alterations and additions to the exterior of structures within historic districts, provides educational materials and programs on preservation principles and practices. Members include one registered architect and four residents of designated historic districts. View Historic District Commission By-Laws (PDF).

The Historic District Commission consists of seven members serving three-year terms who meet monthly.

  • Meetings take place the second Thursday of each month @ 7 p.m.
  • 54B District Court, Courtroom 2
    101 Linden Street
    East Lansing, MI 48823
Historic District Commission Seal

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent AgendaView All Agendas and Minutes

Upcoming Public Hearings

Public hearings (PDF) will be held on Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 7 p.m. in the 54B District Court, Courtroom 2, 101 Linden St.:

  • A public hearing will be held for the purpose of considering a request from Kristin Mahoney and Kaveh Askari, for the property at 1028 Chesterfield Parkway, to remove the vinyl siding and shutters and the aluminum covering the windows in order to restore the original siding and wood framed windows beneath. The applicant is also proposing to add wood shutters to resemble the original shutters..
  • A public hearing will be held for the purpose of considering a request from the Alumni Corp of Beta Zeta, for the property at 453 Abbot Road, to install an ADA ramp on the left side of the building that will be added to the existing patio deck.
  • A public hearing will be held for the purpose of considering a request from Carrie Cargill, for the property at 142 University, to raze the existing garage and construct a new 24’x24’ garage. Additionally the applicant is proposing to add an addition to the rear of the structure that will not be visible from a public right-of-way.


  • Charles Roboski
    Term expires: 2018
  • Amanda Harrell-Seyburn
    Term expires: 2018
  • Aron Sousa 
    Term expires: 2019
  • Marcella Fox Brown                Term expires: 2019

    Term expires: 2019
  • Diane Wing, Vice Chair            
    Term expires: 2020
  • Jessica Flores, Chair              
    Term expires: 2020

City Staff

Apply for a Vacancy

Submit a 
Board / Commission Application (PDF) to apply for an appointment to the Historic District Commission.