Housing Commission

The Housing Commission advises the City Council on matters pertaining to housing within the city, including neighborhood environmental preservation and programs for housing production and conservation; reviews rental housing licenses and amendments to the housing code. The members of this Commission represent low and moderate-income persons, minority groups, the elderly, persons with special needs, the business community, the general public and residents of Community Development target areas.

The Commission consists of nine members who serve three-year terms and meet monthly.


  • Meetings take place the first Thursday each month @ 6:30 p.m.
  • East Lansing Hannah Community Center
    819 Abbot Road
    East Lansing, MI 48823
  • UPDATE (2/22/22): Community members are advised that the Housing Commission has temporarily moved its meeting location to the East Lansing Hannah Community Center, 819 Abbot Road. View the Temporary Meeting Location Change Notice (PDF).
Housing Commission Seal

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Agendas & Minutes| View Agendas & Minutes Archives 


  • Irene Cahill
    Term expires: 2024
  • Larry Rosen, Chair
    Term expires: 2024
  • Jennifer Ferguson, Vice Chair
    Term expires: 2023 
  • Janeile Cannon
    Term expires: 2023
  • Parker Fisher
    Term expires: 2022
  • Rebecca Sam Larson
    Term expires: 2024
  • Samuel Tibebe
    Term expires: 2022

City Staff

Apply for a Vacancy

Submit a 
Board / Commission Application to apply for an appointment to the Housing Commission.